The 2019 competition was again co-ordinated from the Provincial Grand Lodge Office and supported by the Whist Committee comprising Brothers Allan Jenkins SPGM,  Alexander K. Watson HDPGM, Robert G. Neilson PM 510, Allan Taylor PM 1595, Richard Anderson PM 570 and Malcolm Murray PM 1259.

As the competition has seen a decrease in entries over the last 7 years it was decided to drop the district Matches and have it as a one night competition for 2019. 

This year 19 teams attended on the night to compete. The results of the competition were as follows.               

First place and John Adam Cup Winners

Brother Timothy Lovat and Brother Robin Lovat - Lodge Montefiore, No. 753.

Second Place and Denholm Cup Winners

Brother Robert Neilson and Brother Robert Neilson Jnr. – Lodge Maryhill, No. 510.

Third Place and Grant Cup Winners

Brother Andrew MacDougal and Brother John Knox – Lodge Pollok, No. 772.

Thank you to the members of Lodge Tollcross, No. 1194 for the use of their premises, arrangement of tables and chairs and to the bar staff for assistance on the evening and for providing biscuits.

At the competition a number of brethren provided prizes for the raffle draw and these along with raffle prizes won by PGL Office Bearers and Stewards during the Installation and Visitation season and donated to the Whist Competition, comprised the items available at the competition.

Thanks also to Brother James McMillan, SPGM, for supplying the Prizes and who works tirelessly to sell raffle tickets  and donated raffle prizes with assistance from Brother William Newlands, SPGM, and Brother Malcolm Murray.

To the individual members of the Whist Committee, thanks for the generously provision of sandwiches and biscuits.

There were no trophies presented on the night as these will be presented over the next month or so.

I would also like to personally thank Brother Alex Watson,  Honorary Depute Provincial Grand Master, for his valuable assistance on the night.

I would like to conclude by thanking the PGL Office Staff for their administration on behalf of the Whist Committee and all those who participated, without whose presence the Competition wouldn't exist.



Bro. Allan Jenkins

Substitute Provincial Grand Master

Chairman – Whist Competition.

powered by social2s